The Altsveyser

Mishloach manot bags March 11, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — altsveyser @ 6:27 pm

So I’ve been searching for cute bags to package mishloach manot.

 Mishloach manot is the sending of gifts of food on Purim.  It is mentioned directly in the Book of Esther (9:22).  The custom is to send gifts of at least two kinds of food to friends and neighbors on the holiday (there are also separate cutoms of giving gifts to the needy and tzedakah to charity on the holiday).  It’s a wonderful opportunity to do something nice for friends, family, and the community.

I’m having folks over for hamantaschen making this Sunday (including 6 kids!).  I want to have supplies on hand so that people can package their goodies for giving.  I’ve been looking at a few packaging options.

 I think these sandwich bags from Mobi are adorable (what an obvious idea- wake up, Ziploc company).  I love the Todd Oldham ones, but don’t know if I want to support the designer branding of a sandwich bag with that extra buck.

 There’s always a more traditional Purim-specific box or bag.  Chocolategelt.com seems to have cornered the market on these.  The boxes strike me as funny- there’s jolly white Mordechai being lead around on the king’s horse by a dark Haman.  I think it highly unlikely that Mordechai was as white as a Raphael Jesus, especially in comparison to Haman.

I think what we’ll end up doing is going with the classic brown paper lunch sack.  The kids can decorate them however they’d like and staple them up.  It’s probably one of the better environmental options (no plastic, no bleaching, I’ll look for recycled content).  And the price is right.

I’ll look at some reusable container options.  Ooh- sounds like I need to check out the new District Target!

 

Leave a Reply

